Minna Henriksson, Bild aus Abstracta, 2018. Foto © Minna Henriksson

Art

Each year, an artist is invited to expand documenta studies’ field through an artistic research project. The resulting works intervene within the context of the archiving and exhibiting of knowledge under post-digital conditions.

Abstracta is an online archive gathered by artist Minna Henriksson as an attempt to address the Cold War politics of abstract art in the first three documenta exhibitions, which took place in the 1950s and 1960s. Since then, the agenda of documenta was no longer as strongly dominated by the ideology of western abstraction but increasingly also included realist tendencies: the fourth documenta (1968) displayed the latest trends in Pop art and Op art, for instance inviting the group Dvizhenie from Moscow. The fifth documenta (1972) radically broke away from Arnold Bode’s and Werner Haftmann’s modernism by including prominent works of photorealism. The sixth documenta (1977) eventually displayed works by artists from East Germany, despite boycott of some West German artists. Many younger documenta editions, among them documenta X (1997), Documenta11 (2002) and documenta 14 (2017), each have in different ways radically challenged the limits of documenta as a West-European, German and Hessian endeavour.

Minna Henriksson is an artist and lives in Helsinki. Her research-based and post-medium artworks encompass text, drawing, performance, and photography. In her art, she often questions the ways in which the political is hidden within supposedly neutral and natural processes. For the Swedish History Museum in Stockholm, Henriksson worked on a project that aimed to break the silence over questions of “race” in Nordic countries in the second half of the 19th century and the early 20th century. Her ongoing theoretical interest, which she has pursued since 2006 together with Sezgin Boynik, is an engagement with nationalism. She is co-publisher of Art Workers – Material Conditions and Labour Struggles in Contemporary Art Practice, a publication that addresses the precarious working conditions of artistic and cultural workers in Finland, Sweden, and Estonia. In November 2017 she received the Anni and Heinrich Sussmann Artistic Award in Vienna, given to artists who are committed to democracy and anti-fascism.

Minna Henriksson, Bild aus Abstracta, 2018. Foto © Minna Henriksson

Kunst

Jedes Jahr wird ein/e KünstlerIn eingeladen, den Bereich der documenta studien durch eine künstlerische Forschungsarbeit zu erweitern. Die Forschungsergebnisse intervenieren in den Kontext des Archivierens und Ausstellens von Wissen unter postdigitalen Bedingungen.

Abstracta ist ein Online-Archiv, das die Künstlerin Minna Henriksson zusammengestellt hat, um die Politizität der abstrakten Kunst im Kontext des Kalten Kriegs zu thematisieren. Diese künstlerische Forschungsarbeit konzentriert sich auf die ersten drei documenta Ausstellungen der 1950er und 1960er Jahre. Seither war die Agenda der documenta nicht länger so stark von der Ideologie westlicher Abstraktion geprägt, sondern umfasste auch vermehrt realistische Tendenzen: Die vierte documenta (1968) zeigte die neuesten Trends der Pop- und Op-Art, unter anderem mit der Einladung der Gruppe Dvizhenie aus Moskau. Die fünfte documenta (1972) brach völlig mit Arnold Bodes und Werner Haftmanns Modernismus und umfasste unter anderem prominente Werke des Fotorealismus. Die sechste documenta (1977) zeigte trotz des Boykotts einiger westdeutscher Künstler schließlich Werke von DDR Künstlern. Viele der jüngeren documenta Ausgaben, wie die documenta X (1997), die Documenta11 (2002) und die documenta 14 (2017), haben die Grenzen der Institution als westeuropäisches, deutsches und hessisches Unternehmen auf unterschiedliche Weisen radikal in Frage gestellt.

Minna Henriksson ist Künstlerin und lebt in Helsinki. Ihre recherche-basierten und postmedialen Arbeiten umfassen Text, Zeichnung, Performance und Fotografie. In ihrer Kunst beschäftigt sie sich häufig mit der Frage von versteckt Politischem in vermeintlich neutralen, angeblich natürlichen Prozessen. Für das Schwedische Historische Museum in Stockholm arbeitete Henriksson an einem Projekt, das darauf abzielt, das Schweigen über „Rasse“ in nordischen Ländern in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. und des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts zu brechen. Ihr laufendes theoretisches Interesse, das sie gemeinsam mit Sezgin Boynik seit 2006 verfolgt, gilt der Auseinandersetzung mit Nationalismus. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von Art Workers — Material Conditions and Labour Struggles in Contemporary Art Practice, einer Publikation, die sich mit den prekären Arbeitsbedingungen von Kunst- und KulturarbeiterInnen in Finnland, Schweden und Estland befasst. Im November 2017 wurde ihr in Wien der Anni und Heinrich Sussmann Preis für Kunstschaffende, die sich der Demokratie und dem Antifaschismus verpflichtet fühlen, verliehen.