Projects

Fotos: Lorena Vicini, Julia Stolba

RESEARCH SEMINAR EXHIBITION STUDIES 

From the 14th to the 18th of October 2019, the third research seminar exhibition studies will take place in the studyroom of the documenta professorship and at the HGB Leipzi.

 

The second research seminar exhibition studies took place from the 15th to the 20th of July 2019 followed by a public Summer Seminar during the Rundgang of Kunsthochschule Kassel: How? Wow! Wow… Knowing Differently with 31 international researchers.

 

The first research seminar exhibition studies took place from the 8th to the 12th of October 2018 in the study room of the documenta professorship with 15 international researchers. 

 

How can we learn something that we don’t know yet? On the one hand this sounds like a paradox, but isn’t it actually what research is all about? And how can exhibitions and curatorial practices of knowledge production challenge what can be said, done and seen? The research seminar is a transnational context for sharing work on critical documenta and exhibition studies.

 

The seminar takes place for one week every semester in Kassel. The aim is both, very pragmatic towards advancing research processes and admitting that research is full of loopings, blockages and new beginnings. We share strategies of knowledge production as exploration, analysis, reflection, investigation and imagination. We discuss methodologies and readings, explore approaches and allow us to encounter dead ends.

The seminar is an open context for resaerchers in documenta and exhibition studies. Everyone who subscribes to this mailinglist will be invited and can collaborate in the process. The list is open but to subscribe means to engage in the process.

With: Amarildo Valeriano Ajasse, Ahmed Al-Nawas, Freja Bäckman, Liset Castellanos, Raphael Daibert, Angelika Doppelbauer, Theresa Fichtel, Jan-Hendrik Gebbe, Ksenia Kaverina, Clara Ronsdorf, Clara Sakic, Mira Simon, Julia Stolba, Lorena Vicini, Christopher Wessels

 

Organisation: Nora Sternfeld (documenta professor, Kunsthochschule Kassel)

Projekte

Fotos: Lorena Vicini, Julia Stolba

Research Seminar Exhibition Studies

Von 15. bis 20. Juli 2019 findet das zweite research seminar exhibition studies mit anschließendem öffentlichen Sommerseminar unter dem Titel How? Wow! Wow… Knowing Differently mit 31 internationalen ForscherInnen im Rahmen des Rundgangs der Kunsthochschule Kassel statt.

 

Vom 14. bis 18. Oktober 2019 wird das dritte research seminar exhibition studies im studienraum der documenta Professur und an der HGB Leipzig stattfinden.

 

Das erste research seminar exhibition studies fand vom 8. bis 12. Oktober 2018 im studienraum der documenta Professur  mit 15 internationalen ForscherInnen statt.

 

Wie können wir etwas lernen, was wir noch nicht wissen? Das klingt einerseits nach einem Paradoxon, aber ist es nicht eigentlich das, worum es bei der Forschung geht? Und wie können Ausstellungen und kuratorische Praktiken der Wissensproduktion das, was gesagt, getan und gesehen werden kann, infrage stellen? Das Forschungsseminar bietet einen transnationalen Kontext für den Austausch von Arbeiten zu kritischen documenta und Ausstellungsstudien.

 

Das Seminar findet jedes Semester für eine Woche in Kassel statt. Ziel ist sowohl die pragmatische Weiterentwicklung von Forschungsprozessen wie ein Bewusstsein dafür zu entwickeln, dass die Forschung voller Schleifen, Blockaden und Neuanfänge ist. Wir teilen Strategien der Wissensproduktion wie Exploration, Analyse, Reflexion, Untersuchung und Imagination. Wir diskutieren Methoden und Lesarten, erforschen Ansätze und lassen uns in Sackgassen führen.

 

Das Seminar bietet einen offenen Kontext für ForscherInnen in der documenta und Ausstellungsforschung. Alle, die sich für diese Mailingliste anmelden, werden eingeladen und können mitwirken. Die Liste ist offen, sich einzutragen bedeutet gleichzeitig, sich am Prozess zu beteiligen.

 

Mit: Amarildo Valeriano Ajasse, Ahmed Al-Nawas, Farina Asche, Freja Bäckman, Alina Belishkina, Nanne Buurman, Eva Busch, Liset Castellanos, Raphael Daibert, Angelika Doppelbauer, Theresa Fichtel, Jan-Hendrik Gebbe, Ksenia Kaverina, Georg Müller, Malin Guten Schenk, Lydia Lierke, Marina Regel Lucena, Clara Ronsdorf, Clara Sakic, Mira Simon, Giulia Stevanin, Julia Stolba, Jelena Toopeekoff, Lorena Vicini, Gudrun Wallenböck, Liza Weber, Christopher Wessels, Leo Ya-Hsin und Anderen.

 

Leitung: Nora Sternfeld (documenta Professorin, Kunsthochschule Kassel)