Education

learning unlearning #2

How we can show ourselves something that does not yet exist

learning unlearning #2 , February 4, 6.30 – 8.00 pm

A conversation between Ayşe Güleç, Gila Kolb, and Nora Sternfeld about art education and activism

The conversation will discuss forms of action, interventions, and imaginings within art mediation. What spaces of action are possible for art mediators – such as “affirmative subversion” (G. Spivak) or unlearning or pre-enactment (O. Marchart) – within the framework of exhibitions? If we assume that art and mediation are capable of questioning the prevailing conditions, then this occurs in two ways: On the one hand, the visible, the sayable, and the showable become fragile, debatable, and questionable through critical mediation. On the other hand, other ways of seeing and knowing may also come to light. These concern our understanding of struggles, but also our understanding of what may otherwise be possible. We aim to show ourselves something that does not yet exist. In this context, we will discuss the experiences of art mediators in the exhibition space of “The Society of Friends of Halit” during documenta 14.

Ayşe Güleç is an educationalist, researcher, and activist who works at the interface of anti-racism, art, art mediation, and migration. From 2016 to 2017 she was head of documenta 14’s community liaison, creating connections between artists, artworks, and sociopolitical contexts. She is active in the collective movement Unraveling the NSU Complex and was involved in the coordination and implementation of the Tribunal Unraveling the NSU Complex. From 1998 to 2016 she worked at the sociocultural center Schlachthof Kassel, where she was responsible for migration as well as local, regional, and European activist networking. For documenta 12 (2007), she developed the advisory committee documenta 12 Beirat, subsequently becoming the group’s spokesperson. In 2012 she worked to educate art mediators as part of dOCUMENTA (13)’s “Maybe Education” program.

Gila Kolb is an art pedagogist, art educator, and currently a lecturer on teaching methodologies for the MA in Art Education at the HKB University of the Arts and the PH University of Teacher Education in Bern. She is co-founder and editor of the trilingual interview blog The Art Educator’s Talk (2016) and co-founder of agency art education (2015) and the group MethodeMandy (2012). From 2016–2017 she was a member of the faculty of documenta 14’s aneducation art education project. Since 2017 she has led the research project The Art Educator’s Walk – Handeln und Haltung von KunstvermittlerInnen zeitgenössischer Kunst am Beispiel der Grossausstellung documenta 14 in Kassel at the HKB Bern, with a research focus on intermediality.

Vermittlung

vermittlung vermitteln #2

wie wir uns etwas zeigen können, das es noch nicht gibt

vermittlung vermitteln #2 , 4.2., 18:30 – 20:00

Ein Gespräch zwischen Ayşe Güleç, Gila Kolb und Nora Sternfeld über Kunstvermittlung und Aktivismus

Veranstaltung in deutscher Sprache. Alle sind willkommen.

Das Gespräch widmet sich Handlungsformen, Interventionen und Imaginationen in der Kunstvermittlung. Welche Handlungsräume für Kunstvermittler*innen – wie zum Beispiel die „affirmative Subversion“ (G. Spivak), das Verlernen oder das Pre-Enactment (O. Marchart) – sind im Rahmen von Ausstellungen möglich? Wenn wir davon ausgehen, dass Kunst und Vermittlung die bestehenden Verhältnisse infrage stellen können, dann geschieht dies auf zweierlei Weise: Einerseits wird das Sichtbare, Sagbare und Zeigbare durch kritische Vermittlung brüchig, diskutier- und hinterfragbar. Andererseits können andere Möglichkeiten zu sehen und zu wissen zutage treten. Diese betreffen das Wissen von Kämpfen, aber auch das Wissen von einer anderen Möglichkeit. Wir zeigen uns also etwas, das es noch nicht gibt. In diesem Zusammenhang werden unter anderem die Erfahrungen der Kunstvermittler*innen im Ausstellungsraum „The Society of Friends of Halit“ der documenta 14 diskutiert.

Ayşe Güleç ist Pädagogin und forschende Aktivistin an den Schnittstellen von Anti-Rassismus, Kunst, Kunstvermittlung und Migration. 2016 bis 2017 war sie Mitarbeiterin der documenta 14 und hat als Community Liaison Verbindungen zwischen Künstler*innen, Kunstwerken und soziopolitischen Kontexten hergestellt und koordinierte u.a. „Die Gesellschaft der Freund_innen von Halit“ für das Public Program der documenta 14. Sie ist in der kollektiven Bewegung NSU-Komplex auflösen aktiv und war an der Koordinierung und Durchführung des Tribunals NSU-Komplex auflösen beteiligt. 1998 bis 2015 war sie im Kulturzentrum Schlachthof in Kassel im Bereich Migration sowie für lokale, regionale und europäische Vernetzungsarbeit tätig. Für die documenta 12 (2007) entwickelte sie den documenta 12-Beirat und wurde in der Folge dessen Sprecherin. 2012 bildete sie als Mitglied der „Maybe Education“ der dOCUMENTA (13) Kunstvermittler*innen aus.

Gila Kolb ist Kunstpädagogin, Kunstvermittlerin und derzeit Dozentin für Fachdidaktik im Studiengang MA Art Education der HKB und PH Bern. Sie ist Mitbegründerin und Herausgeberin des dreisprachigen Interview-Blogs The Art Educator’s Talk (2016), Mitbegründerin der Agentur für Kunstvermittlung Agency art education (2015) und der Gruppe MethodeMandy (2012). 2016 bis 2017 war sie Mitglied der Faculty der documenta14 Art Education „aneducation“. Seit 2017 leitet sie das Forschungsprojekt: The Art Educator’s Walk – Handeln und Haltung von KunstvermittlerInnen zeitgenössischer Kunst am Beispiel der Grossausstellung documenta 14 in Kassel im Forschungsschwerpunkt Intermedialität an der HKB Bern.